Producers on the Move
22 May 2018

home / festivals / festival

Seminci - Valladolid International Film Festival

63rd Edition

Seminci - Valladolid International Film Festival

where:Valladolid (Spagna)
when:October 20th - 27th, 2018
address:Teatro Calderón
Calle Leopoldo Cano, s/n, 4°
47003 - Valladolid (Spain)
tel:34 983 42 64 60
fax:+34 983 42 64 61
deadline:July 6th, 2018
entry form:Online Submission

Since it began in 1956, the Valladolid International Film Festival has introduced to Spain directors and cinematography which were previously unknown there. Spanish audiences became acquainted with names such as Ingmar Bergman, Luis Buñuel, François Truffaut, Andrzej Wajda, Federico Fellini, Ermanno Olmi and Yilmaz Gürney from the launch-pad offered by Valladolid. The works of film-makers of the standing of Roberto Rossellini, Stanley Donen, Max Ophüls, Ken Loach, Kenji Mizoguchi, Yasujiro Ozu and Aardman Animations could be enjoyed and studied in the sections dedicated to their major works, many on view for the first time in Spain.
The Festival’s “spikes” are the awards given to the best competing films in the Official Section. They have become true classics in the world of film awards and some of the most important filmmakers of the last few decades have received them.
They can be gold or silver. “Spikes” are the Valladolid Festival’s main prizes: a status which they inherited from their predecessors—the “Labarum” and, even before, the “Dom Bosco” (the Festival’s original award).

  • One Man Up by Paolo Sorrentino: New Talents of the 21st Century Never Released in Spain

  • Benur by Massimo Andrei: Meeting Point - Audience Award

  • Marina by Stijn Coninx: Official Section

  • Certified Copy by Abbas Kiarostami: In Competition - Golden Spike Award

  • Three Hours by Annarita Zambrano: Official Selection Short Movies

  • ESTÔMAGO by Marcos Jorge: "Pilar Mirò" Award for Best First Feature; Best Actor (Ex Aequo) (Marcos Jorge); Espiga de Oro por unanimidad Award; 18th Young Award

  • Hidden by Michael Haneke: In Competition: 50th Anniversary Prize

  • KELLER by Eva Urthaler: Meeting Point

  • POST-IT by Michele Rho: Meeting Point: Audience Award

  • WRESTLING MATCH by Stefano Viali: In Competition: Short