16 February 2019

home / festivals / festival

Hamburg International Film Festival

26th Edition

Hamburg International Film Festival

where:Amburgo (Germania)
when:September 27th - October 6th, 2018
address:Mönckebergstraße 18
D-20095 Hamburg, Germany
tel:+49.40.3 99 19 00 -14
fax:+49.40.3 99 19 00 -10
deadline:July 15th, 2018
entry form:Online Submission

More than 170 national and international feature and documentary films are celebrating their German, European or world premiere in altogether eight sections at Filmfest Hamburg. The many facets of the programme range from cinematically highbrow arthouse films to innovative mainstream cinema, from road movies to melodrama, from comedies and westerns to thrillers and children’s films.
Filmfest Hamburg presents the debut films of young German and international filmmakers alongside films by famous and infamous directing giants of international cinema.
# Douglas-Sirk-Award: This famous award is presented annually to a personality or a company that has made outstanding achievements around film culture and film industry. The selection of the recipient, who presents a current film at the festival, is taken by the festival direction.
# Hamburg Film Critic Award: Nominated are twelve fiction films from different sections of the programme who offer an original view on present issues. The price is awarded by representatives of well-known Hamburg media. The same films are as well nominated for the Foreign Press Award from the Foreign Press Association in Germany.
# TV Producer Award: Nominated are films from section ‚16:9’. This price is awarded to the production company of the winning film chosen by an independent jury.
# Montblanc Script Award: All films of section ‚Nordlichter’ join this competition. An independent jury honours the script writer.
# Art Cinema Award: A jury of European cinema operators selects films with German distributors. Only one film per distributor can be nominated.
# Die Elfe: For this competition, 12 international first and second director's works of all sections can be nominated.
# Häagen-Dazs Audience Award: The audience votes for the winner of the films in section 'eurovisuell’.

  • Iceman by Felix Randau: Free Port